super easy homemade marinara sauce

I had some beautiful organic tomatoes that were going to go bad if I didn’t eat them fast enough. So, I decided to make some homemade marinara sauce. I had thought of doing this before but assumed it was complicated. It was not complicated and was so delicious. Even my picky teenager liked it, and it had a plum in it and she didn’t even know it. If you have CKD and don’t want to use tomatoes roast red peppers instead. I only eat 2 tbsp at a time of sauce, so I use tomatoes. Plus this is low sodium, as I added no sodium. The tomato sauce probably had some sodium, but still less than any jar sauce in the store.

Ingredients:

7 organic tomatoes

1 vidalia onion

garlic powder

sweet basil

1 plum with pit removed

Cut up all of the ingredients and put them on a cookie sheet with just a dab of olive oil. Roast at 350 F for 30 minutes. You can see what it looked like in the image below. Then let it cool for 15-30 minutes. Then simply puree all of the ingredients in a blender. Put the sauce in a jar, or container, and store in the refrigerator until you want to use it. I think this could have been just a tad sweeter, so I will probably add just a smidge of sugar when reheating.

Cooler mornings have gotten me in the cooking mood. I also made delicious banana bread, and froze potatoes to keep them fresh. I will post about those later.

Make some homemade marinara sauce and tell me what you liked or didn’t like.

Disclaimer

Check out my Reiki sessions, and my Meals with Melissa subscription plan.

Join my Mailchimp mailing list to receive my weekly newsletter with a free portable smoothie recipe, deals, coupons, and content not shared here on the blog.

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.